Assault Battery Lawyer Passion. Experience. Diligence.

Understanding What Is Assault
And How to Protect Yourself

In Wilson County, Tennessee, any offensive physical contact between multiple people could be considered assault, even if there are not signs of injury or abuse to the alleged victim. If the offensive contact does in fact result in a serious injury, strangulation, or involves the use of any type of weapon, you could be charged with aggravated assault.

At Vasek and Robbins in Wilson County, Tennessee, we will do everything we can to defend everyone charged with a misdemeanor and felony assault. We offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case. Contact Vasek and Robbins today to begin safeguarding your future.

If you are charged with assault, aggravated assault, or domestic assault, the stigma of being charged can be crippling and emotionally draining. I have represented hundreds of people charged with domestic assault and the initial shock of being charged and held for twelve hours can feel like you've already been convicted. The phrase "innocent until proven guilty" seems like a legal fallacy and in some respects, it is.

The rules involving domestic assault are complex, evolving, and unforgiving to those that do not know what defenses and strategies are available. If you have been charged with any of the assault offenses described, contact the Criminal Defense Team at Vasek and Robbins to discuss what strategies and defenses you have available.

A skilled criminal defense lawyer is necessary who can prove your innocence. At Vasek and Robbins, we have years of experience and can explain your legal options and how they affect you.

Types of assault charges in Tennessee.

  • Simple Assault

  • Aggravated Assault

  • Domestic Assault

  • Sexual Assault

Simple Assault

Simple assault is described as knowingly or recklessly causing physical harm to another person.

Reasonably fearing imminent injury to body or physical contact that could cause them to feel reasonably provoked comes under simple assault. There are two types of simple assault

  • Class A Misdemeanor

  • Class B Misdemeanor

A class A misdemeanor is when the offender caused bodily injury or threatened the victim with immediate harm. The punishment carries up to 11 months and 29 days in jail, and a fine of $2,500.

Class B misdemeanor is when there is physical contact that is offensive or provocative, the punishment carries up to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $500.

Aggravated Assault

Aggravated assault is a felony with severe consequences if convicted. To be convicted of aggravated assault a person must commit the offense of assault in addition to of the following:

  • Intentionally or Knowingly causing serious bodily injury

  • The assault results in the death of another

  • Involved the use or display of a deadly weapon

  • Involved strangulation or attempted strangulation

  • Intentionally or knowingly fails or refuses to protect a child from an aggravated assault if the parent or guardian

If the use of a weapon is involved, they can be charged with felony aggravated assault. There are two felony classes, Class C and Class D felony.

  • The sentence for class C felony is 3 to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000

  • The sentence for class D felony is 2 to 12 years in prison and a fine up to $5,000

Sexual Assault

Sexual assault involves crimes where sexual contact occurs without consent. These offenses involve forced oral sexual contact, contact with inanimate objects, or another forcible sexual contact. If the actions do not satisfy the definition of rape or aggravated sexual abuse, it is normally categorized as sexual battery. There are many factors taken in to decide the penalty related to sexual charges, including:

  • Length of time the contact occurred

  • The age of the victim and accused

  • The degree of injury

  • Whether or not a weapon was used

  • Whether or not this was a first-time offense

Depending on these factors, it can be categorized into a class A misdemeanor or a class B felony. A class A misdemeanor carries up to eleven months and twenty-nine days in jail and up to $2,500 in fines, however a class B felony carries between eight to thirty years in prison and fines up to $25,000. Sexual battery is the intentional touching of any party’s intimate parts or clothing covering them without the victims consent, and is a class E felony with 1-6 years in prison and fines up to $3,000.

Most sex offenses result in being required to be on the Tennessee Sex Offender Registry, which can seriously impact the rest of your life. If you find yourself being investigated or charged with any of these charges, Vasek and Robbins has a Criminal Defense team that can provide the best defense for you.

Domestic Assault

Domestic assault is an assault against a victim who is typically either family or a household member, however the definition of a “domestic abuse victim” includes several relationships that exceeds the relationship that domestic assault is intended to protect. Domestic Abuse Victims include the following

  • A current or former spouse

  • A person with whom the accused resides or previously resided with

  • A person who the accused used to date or currently dates

  • Someone with whom the accused is related to, by blood or adoption

  • Someone with whom the accused is or were related to by marriage

The penalties are the same as simple assault; however the added penalty is that the offender will not possess the right to legally carry a firearm. If the accused has previously been convicted of a domestic assault, a second conviction carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence of thirty days up to eleven months and twenty-nine days, in addition to three thousand and five hundred dollars in fines. If the accused has two prior domestic assault convictions, Tennessee Legislature has continued to focus on enhancing the punishment and now carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence of ninety days in jail, in addition to a fine of up to five thousand dollars. A person found guilty of domestic assault in Tennessee may also be required to pay restitution.

This involves reimbursing the victim for any expenses due to the crime. This can be the cost of medical treatment, counseling, or repair of the damaged property. A conviction becomes part of your criminal record permanently. The Criminal Defense team at Vasek & Robbins understands the legal landscape and to successfully defend individuals accused.

Hire Vasek & Robbins, Assault and Domestic Assault Lawyers To Defend You in Wilson County.

When seeking legal advice, knowledge and integrity from your lawyer is key. Here are Vasek and Robbins, we ensure you know all the legal options and how they affect you and your loved ones. It is necessary to have the best legal defense to protect yourself and your family. At Vasek and Robbins our attorneys are licensed in the State of Tennessee and can represent clients in all courts.

What Are Our Clients Saying?

Opinions From Those Who Matter Most
  • Forever Changed My Life

    “I was facing prison on multiple drug charges did not know what I was going to do. My mom hired Mr.Vasek and he fought hard for my case. I ended up getting probation with a year in recovery because I ...”

    - J.W.
  • Quick, Efficient, and Reasonably Priced

    “We had a great experience getting our Wills done!! It was quick, efficient, and reasonably priced! It was our first time to make a will so we were a little nervous but Josh put us at ease very quickly ...”

    - J.G.
  • Highly Recommend

    “Highly recommend them if you need to do estate planning or have other legal needs.”

    - R.W.
  • Amazing Job Representing Our Best Interests

    “My husband and I hired Donnavon Vasek and he did an amazing job representing our best interests! He answered all of our questions and was patient and very knowledgeable. Highly recommend his office ...”

    - L.M.
  • Kind, Professional and Responsive

    “V&R Law, specifically Mr. Donnavon Vasek was kind, professional, and responsive in handling both of my cases. He can be relied on for his knowledge of the law and court system, telling you what to ...”

    - V.B.
/

Why Choose Our Firm?

Don't Risk Your Future
  • Our Firm Is Top-Rated & Award-Winning
  • Knowledgeable & Experienced Attorneys Ready to Handle Your Case
  • Our Firm Believes in Transparent Communication
  • Your Initial Consultation Is Free
  • Our Approach Is Client Focused
  • Over 15 Years of Combined Legal Experience

Awards & Professional Affiliations

Respected By Our Peers
  • AAEPA
  • TACDL
  • TN Bar Association
  • Avvo Top Attorney
  • Top 40 Under 40

Contact Us Today!

Schedule Your Free Consultation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.