Lebanon Burglary Lawyers
What is Aggravated Burglary in Tennessee?
Generally, the offense of burglary is when an individual, without the effective consent of the property owner, enters a building other than a habitation not open to the public, with the intent to commit a felony, theft, or assault. As one can see there are several elements to a burglary that would be required to prove and likewise several grounds to challenge.
Aggravated Burglary is the offense of Burglary of a habitation. A habitation includes several different structures but is commonly referred to as a home. A habitation also includes any structure including a building, module unit, mobile home, trailer, or tent which is designed for overnight accommodation. The offense of Especially Aggravated Burglary is the offense of burglary or aggravated burglary where the victim suffers serious bodily injury.
Contact Vasek & Robbins today to find out more about how our burglary defense attorneys in Lebanon can assist you.
What Penalties Do Burglary & Aggravated Burglary Carry?
Burglary in Tennessee is a felony offense that, depending on the allegations, ranges from a Class E felony to a Class D felony. The amount of jail time would depend upon their prior record. If the individual accused does not have a prior record, a Class E Felony carries one to two years. With no prior record or being a Range I offender, a Class D Felony carries two to four years.
Aggravated Burglary under T.C.A. 39-14-403 is a felony offense in Tennessee that is classified as a Class C felony. The offense carries a minimum sentence of three years up to a maximum sentence of six years as a Range I offender, with a maximum fine of $10,000.00. As the offense Aggravated Burglary inherently required another criminal offense, the concern for sentencing may also be whether this offense is run concurrently or consecutively to the felony, theft, or assault.
The offense of Especially aggravated burglary is a class B felony that carries a minimum sentence of eight years up to a maximum sentence of twelve years as a Range I offender, with a maximum fine of up to $25,000.
If you have been charged with burglary, aggravated burglary, or especially aggravated burglary, contact our Lebanon burglary defense attorneys at (615) 488-7949 to discuss your case and what defenses are available to you.
Why Choose Our Firm?Don't Risk Your Future
Over 15 Years of Combined Legal Experience
Our Approach Is Client Focused
Our Firm Believes in Transparent Communication
Knowledgeable & Experienced Attorneys Ready to Handle Your Case
Our Firm Is Top-Rated & Award-Winning